Growing up I wish someone had warned me that I shouldn’t be afraid of failing, that I should embrace failure,  nestle her on my bosom with love and gentle strokes of patients; like one would rocking a baby while humming a lullaby. I wish I had tapped into Richard Branson’s school of thought, cause he would have graciously wagged his finger and said, “Do not be embarrassed by your failures, learn from them and start again.” Or how about Henry Ford whispering, “Failure is simply the opportunity to begin again this time more intelligently,” my child. Where was I when they were dishing out such food for thought, cause in all honesty, those pot holes and speed bumps I have encountered in life, would have been a whole lot smoother and sweeter, had I heeded those words.

Over the years failure has shown up countless times in all her natural glory, leaving me battered, bruised and cooped up in a bubble of sadness and at times nursing a glass of red, with regret. Failure is that ominous cloud hanging in the air forever a reminder of ‘what were you thinking?’, ‘who do you think you are?’ while unleashing a shadow of doubt, second guesses and near misses.

However what maturity has taught me is that, failure is merely a stepping stone to success, that sometimes we need a nudge to a different path in life. As a result with failure we dealt a do over, a clean slate and back to first base moments. After the sulking, tear jerking marathon and ‘why me’ episodes, reality sets in on how to tackle the problem from a different perspective. The beauty about failing is that we dealt with second chances, what happened ‘yesterday’ can be corrected ‘tomorrow’ so to, is the beauty of life.  You fall of a horse, all you have to do is get back up, however the choice of getting up and dusting yourself is easier said than done and takes sheer courage and determination. That’s all it takes for the sparks of success to be ignited; courage and perseverance. It was Winston Churchill who once said, “Success is not final, failure is not fatal, it is the courage to continue that counts.”

It takes guts and determination to bounce back and to bounce back even better than you were before. Cause this time you able to discover tenacity and zeal and realize your utmost potential to overcome, to endure, to succeed. Sometimes we need failure to remind us of our goal in life, we need failure to scrape the bottom of a barrel, we need failure to slap us back to reality, to remind us to change gear, to change direction, to focus and discover the power within.

On that note, I say to you, the next time you fail on something, reach a dead end and find yourself between a rock and a hard place, remember failure, is being presented with an opportunity to brush up on our weakness and realize your full potential, there’s no second guesses, near misses just room for perfection. I’ve noticed how my failed moments drive me to stepping back, reassessing the scenario, centering- self, and tapping to my inner self because in all honesty, should I find myself running the same race, failure is not an option and my intention is to be better prepared with a different strategy in mind.Yes, my dear you, I’m human as a result I do fail, I just try not to beat myself up about it, learn from it and move on.

To you, however I say, from my heart to yours, always remember that facing failure, is but a learning process; the doorway to unmasking your hidden potential, and in the words of Steve Jobs, “Don’t be afraid of failure, failure doesn’t mean you will never achieve, it just means it takes a little longer.”

So in future how about dancing with failure and while you at it, basking in the sun; there’s serenity in that moment, my beautiful you.

Picture credit: Nestseller

Leave a Reply

